Day 81: Celebrate Nature!

…by luring a fly onto the Book, and then smashing it.

Today’s task reminds me of an old episode of the Simpsons, wherein Homer is urged by an other-Apu to “celebrate the independence of your nation by blowing up a small part of it.”

It’s not that I have a problem killing flies – swatting down a slow-moving horsefly while it’s mid-flight is its own special kind of joy – but there aren’t that many of them around at the moment. Certainly there are none in the house, and I’m not going to go to the trouble of finding and killing a fly outside – those flies aren’t bothering me any, and some other critter outside will end up eating them anyway.

I do have a bit of a problem killing a bug inside a book, because then you have a dead bug in your book, and that’s just a tad gross. Maybe if you were never going to open the book again, after you’d killed the bug in it…

Funny story about that. Several years ago, a friend got me a copy of Robinson Crusoe published in 1899. Later, during my first semester of grad school, I (and the rest of my cohort) had to take a “how to be a graduate student / professional academic” course. The course involved several group assignments, one of which was a descriptive bibliography: which is, basically, an extremely detailed description of a particular book, rather than a more general bibliographic entry that describes all copies of, say, the first edition of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. The group I was in used my old copy of Robinson Crusoe — because why not? — and one of the things we discovered in the book was a small dead spider, in the lower left quadrant of the “List of Illustrations” page. Dude had probably been in there for close to a century.

Okay, so maybe it’s not that funny a story. My point is this: I already have one book with a dead bug in it. I don’t need two.

Leave a Reply

