Day 78: How politically correct is your circle of friends?

The Book is referring to the ethnic diversity of my acquaintances, not the political correctness of their views and opinions.

Do I have enough friends to make a circle? How many does it take? Surely if I can count my colleagues and casual acquaintances I can put a circle together…

I have to confess that this one has got me stumped. I have no idea what to say. I mean, there are a lot of white people in my circle, and no Pacific Islanders. Is that a bad thing? I mean, white people aren’t all that great, and I’d be happy to trade some of them in – especially today, because today I heard the “Friday” song, which I hate with the fire of a thousand suns. Seriously, this song is so aggressively asinine that it makes me embarrassed to use the same days of the week as this girl.

There was a time when my circle was more diverse than it is now, I guess, when I worked with a more diverse group of people. The reason my circle is so pasty these days is that most of my fellow grad students, and many of the folk in the English department at large, are white – as are most of my students, though I’ve got a really small subset of the entire student body.

This is less than optimal, but I don’t have the time to go out and acquire friends of different ethnicities like they were baseball cards or Pokémon – I barely have time to keep up with the people who are already around me. Shit, there’s one of the new(ish) grad students who’s been in the department since late last August, and I still haven’t met her.

So what am I going to do to rectify the less-than-diverse diversity of my circle of people I know? Nothing. Why? Because that would involve meeting new people, and pretending to be interested in them, which would be a lie, because I don’t have time for anyone new, and I don’t want to lie to people just to check off boxes on a checklist.

It’s just too much work, and I’d rather take a nap.

Leave a Reply

