Day 39: Learn to speak Swedish.

The Book provides a few helpful phrases – “hello” (hallá), “goodbye” (hej dá), “thank you for the food” (tack för maten), “that is a lovely hat” (det där är en vacker hatt) – as well as a few that aren’t so useful, among which “you are a sausage” (du är en korv) is my favorite.

So, now I speak Swedish. Hallá, welcome to my blog, du är en korv. I wonder how to make that plural – you are all sausages? I’m also not sure if that’s just a ridiculous sentence, or if it’s some sort of idiomatic insult. I wonder what will happen if I give it to Google Translate?

…well, it tells me that it means “you are a sausage.” Very good, then. Also, ni är alla korvar is “you are all sausages” – but, oddly, “you are sausages” (which means mostly the same thing in English, right?) comes out du är korv. Not sure why that is, mostly because I don’t speak any Swedish.

Because it seems like a good idea, I’m going to put everything I’ve written thus far into Google Translate, translate it into Swedish, put it below, then translate it back into English, and put that below the Swedish – and, hopefully, hilarity will ensue. Let’s see:

Boken ger några användbara fraser – “hello ” (hallå), “Goodbye” (hej da),”tack för maten” (Tack för Maten), “det är en härlig hatt” (Det where Känner jag mig sminkad sv Vacker Hatt ) – samt ett fåtal som inte är så användbara,bland vilka “du är en korv” (du Känner jag mig sminkad en korv) är minfavorit.

Så, nu talar jag svenska. Halla, välkommen till min blogg, du jag mig sminkaden korv. Jag undrar hur man gör det i plural – ni är alla korvar? Jag är inte heller säker på om det är bara en löjlig mening, eller om det är någon form avidiomatiska förolämpning. Jag undrar vad som kommer hända om jag ger dettill Google Translate?

… ja, säger det mig att det betyder “du är en korv.” Mycket bra, då. Dessutomär ni jag mig sminkad Alla korvar “ni är alla korvar” – men, konstigt, “du ärkorvar” (? vilket betyder mestadels samma sak på engelska, höger) kommerut du Känner jag mig sminkad korv. Inte säker på varför det är, mest för att jaginte talar någon svenska.

Eftersom det verkar vara en bra idé, jag ska lägga allt jag skrivit hittills iGoogle Translate, översätta det till svenska, uttryckte det under, sedanöversätter tillbaka till engelska, och lägga det under de svenska – ochFörhoppningsvis kommer munterhet följden. Låt oss se:

The book provides some useful phrases – “hello” (hello), “Goodbye” (bye), “thanks for the meal” (Thanks for Food), “it’s a lovely hat” (It där Är en Beautiful Hat) – and a few not so useful, among which “you’re a dog” (you Är a sausage) is minfavorit.

So, now I speak Swedish. Halla, welcome to my blog, you I sminkaden sausage. I wonder how to do it in the plural – you are all hot dogs? I’m also not sure if it’s just a silly sentence, or if there is some form avidiomatiska insult. I wonder what will happen if I give dettill Google Translate?

… yes, it tells me that it means “you are a sausage.” Very well, then. In addition, you Är All sausages “you are all hot dogs” – but, strangely, “you ärkorvar” (? Which means mostly the same thing in English, right) kommerut you Är sausage. Not sure why that is, mostly because jaginte speak any Swedish.

Since there seems to be a good idea, I’ll put everything I’ve written so far iGoogle Translate, translate it into Swedish, put it in, then translate back into English, and put it in Swedish – ochFörhoppningsvis will hilarity ensue. Let’s see:

——Well. That was fun. I wonder how long it would take to achieve equilibrium with something like that?

Leave a Reply

