Day 22: Today agree to meet someone in ten years’ time.

SHUTTLECOCK SHUTTLECOCK SHUTTLECOCK

And not just any someone, but “a stranger or someone you hardly know.”

Let me say up front that it feels a bit rash to promise to meet someone a decade from now. How do I know I’ll even still be alive, or have the ability to get to the rendezvous point, or even care enough to bother? Will I be dooming myself to some sort of catastrophe by going ahead with today’s task?

Maybe. Maybe not. I’m doing it anyway.

So. In ten years – on Friday, January 22, 2021 – I will be at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, in Kansas City, MO. I will be next to one of the four giant shuttlecocks – I don’t really want to commit to a particular one, yet. I’ll plan to show up around 11 in the morning, and hang around for a few hours. Maybe have a leisurely, four-course picnic? Read a bit? Try not to get so drunk the security guards haul me away?

Now, who am I meeting? Anyone who shows up. All of you who read this blog are invited, even those of you I know personally (because you’re all a bit strange, get it, ha ha ha). If you want to join the picnic, bring a little something, because I may not pack enough.

I put this on my calendar: that’s how serious I am. How many of you have something on your calendar for 2021 already? That’s right: all of you. THIS THING. See you in a decade.

4 Comments on “Day 22: Today agree to meet someone in ten years’ time.”

  1. Erin in MI says:

    Don’t you think it might be a tad chilly for a picnic in January in Missouri?

  2. […] about my non-doing, because she always complains when I ignore the Book’s admonitions to interact with strangers. Well, wife, tough shit. (I love you anyway, […]

  3. […] before your next haircut” or something, I might have considered doing it. I’ve already had to put a future event on my calendar for the Book, though, and I don’t really want to do […]


Leave a Reply

