Day 6: Write the opening sentence of your début novel.

One morning, Eusebius Jones woke up, brushed his teeth, had a piss, wandered into the kitchen, ate breakfast – two grapefruit and three cups of strong coffee – and then sat at his kitchen table, staring at nothing, trying to decide what he was going to do with the bodies in the trunk of his car.

Or:

Several years after the Catastrophe – that sudden, unexplained near-extinction of the human race – our protagonist sat in his fortress, a sprawling old library, reading a depressingly boring novel about Victorian courtship rituals.

Or:

I am drinking wine, red wine, many bottles of red wine, I started drinking them I don’t remember when and I haven’t stopped yet and I have no intentions of stopping any time soon because there are still plenty of bottles of red wine I haven’t opened yet – and my god, where am I and where are my shoes and where the fuck did I leave that corkscrew?

One Comment on “Day 6: Write the opening sentence of your début novel.”

  1. […] the hell back on day six, I wrote this, as the opening sentence of my début novel: One morning, Eusebius Jones woke up, […]


Leave a Reply

