Day 1: Warm-up

One of the tasks on the Book’s warm-up list is “Try a new sandwich filling.”

“This sounds like a challenge,” I thought to myself. “Maybe I can top my brisket-and-baked-beans barbeque burger.”

Lack of planning worked against me, however. I had bread, and I had peanut butter, but I didn’t have much else available for sandwiching, and certainly nothing that could be considered groundbreaking to include on a sandwich. “That’s alright,” I thought. “I’ll try a new combination of sandwich ingredients.” And so I did: peanut butter, honey, and hummus (Lorna’s homemade chickpea-and-eggplant-together hummus).

It was edible, which is something, but it wasn’t exactly tasty. It wasn’t not tasty, though: it was mostly tasteless. I’m not sure how that happened, exactly, but there was an odd anti-synergy happening, a blending of flavors to produce flavorlessness. Disappointing, to say the least.

What could I have done differently? Hummus and strawberry jelly? Fried egg and hummus on toast? Peanut butter and mustard? I don’t know. I don’t exactly feel warmed up; I hope I don’t strain a muscle or something doing tomorrow’s task…

Leave a Reply

