In which I preview the coming year…

For my birthday this year, my dear friend Deborah got me this book, which will, according to the title, change my life – if I do the (often ridiculous) tasks it sets out for me (or, rather, the tasks which Benrik – Ben Carey and Henrik Delehag, the artistic duo behind the Book – sets out for me). I’ve flipped through it, of course, and I already know there are at least a few things I won’t be doing – such as giving myself a yogurt enema. There are others that I’m going to do, against my better judgment.

I’m going to write a post for each one, every day of 2011. And since reading a post in which I say “there’s no way I’m putting yogurt into my colon” wouldn’t be particularly entertaining, I’m going to make something up – so some posts will be fictional, and some factual, and you, dear readers, won’t know which are which (except for the yogurt one, of course).

The first day’s activity is a warm-up, a list of “easy task[s] that will only change your life a little bit.” As a preview of what nonsense is to come on this blog in 2011, I’ve done the first task on the list: “Do one press-up.” But not just a regular press-up: no, I’ve done one Guillotine press-up (because the name is awesome, that’s why). And because I have no medicine balls in my office, I used books: the Collected Dialogues of Plato, a New Oxford Annotated Bible, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, and Gravity’s Rainbow on one side, and a half-dozen of Defoe’s novels (from a matching set) on the other. I did the press-up in my office (with the door closed, of course) in my standard professor get-up: slacks, Oxford shirt, sweater.

Oh, and I didn’t do one press-up, but five (because seriously, who only does one?) – and maybe, by the end of the year, I’ll be up to a hundred

It felt good. It’s going to be a good year.

One Comment on “In which I preview the coming year…”

  1. […] of the tasks on the Book’s warm-up list is “Try a new sandwich […]


Leave a Reply

