Another Episode in the Ongoing Farce of Government

I don’t pay much attention to the news, but the furor around Gov. Rod Blagojevich’s alleged attempts to sell Obama’s vacant Senate seat made it on to my radar. I’m of the opinion that most politicians are at least a little corrupt, placing their own needs and those of their (wealthy) supporters over the good of those they serve, but Blagojevich is accused of being unabashedly, flagrantly corrupt, and I think it’s funny, in a horrible sort of way.

So when I saw that Roland Burris, the man he’d appointed to fill the vacant Senate seat, had been turned away by the Senate this morning – because his paperwork isn’t in order – I was very happy. Not because I care whether or not Burris ends up in the Senate (I hardly care that Obama won the election instead of McCain – why the hell would I care about a Senator?), but because of the hypocrisy the Senate is displaying. They wish to avoid the appearance of corruption, but they aren’t fooling anyone. Blagojevich and Burris are their brothers, their kin, their tribesmen. Blagojevich is being scapegoated not because because of his corruption, but because he went just a little too far.

UPDATE, 1/8/09:
Looks like Burris will get to be a Senator, after all. That didn’t take long.

Leave a Reply

